Bookings available for Carcoar Cup 2018
Shalom was called into life in response to a prayerful insight received in October 1974 by Neville Bowers who, with his wife Helen, was co-founder. “Go to Carcoar, re-open the old convent, and make it a place where people can come and establish or renew their relationship with God”. Discernment revealed the lived out vision of the House of Prayer: The “old convent” was Mount St. Joseph, later known as St. Mary’s Academy, built in 1874 and staffed by the Sisters of Mercy – providing ongoing education until its closure in 1969.
Six years later, on January 18th 1975, Neville, Helen and their family established Shalom, the Bathurst Catholic Diocesan House of Prayer, under the authority of the Bishop of Bathurst. For many years, people came to discover the charisms of peace, acceptance, hospitality and the felt presence of the God of love.
Shalom House of Prayer is now a living and growing community. Renovations continue thanks to the generous efforts of our friends as we endeavour to provide a welcoming space for those who come.